coronavirus

First-Year Student Orientation

First-Year Student Orientation

New Student & Family Programs welcomes you and your family to Carolina. Our office is here to support you and your family as you transition to UNC-Chapel Hill.

Please refer to the First-Year Enrollment Checklist as you prepare for your next steps as a student at Carolina. One of the items on this checklist is to register for New Student Orientation, a mandatory, two-day, overnight program.

 

Actively participating in New Student Orientation is an important aspect of facilitating your transition to Carolina. All new, first-year students are required to attend New Student Orientation.

Attending New Student Orientation provides new students the opportunity to:

  • gain a more concrete feel for the campus community.
  • learn about campus resources.
  • hear from academic advisors
  • connect with faculty and current students, including your Orientation Leader (OL).
  • learn what it means to be a Tar Heel.

New Student Orientation also offers a number of opportunities for family members. During our concurrent Family Orientation, participants will hear from numerous university administrators, faculty members, and current students about how to partner with the University to support your success and learning. We welcome and strongly encourage family members and guests to attend Family Orientation and learn about how to get involved at Carolina as a family member. Reservations for Family Orientation should be completed at the same time students complete their New Student Orientation Reservation.

Attending Family Orientation provides family members the opportunity to:

  • learn how to support your Carolina student to be successful.
  • gain insight about campus services.
  • discover how to become involved as a Carolina family.
  • meet faculty, administrators, staff and current students.

 

Each New Student Orientation date has a corresponding fall course registration time, during which students MUST have access to the internet in order to register for classes. Thus, when choosing an New Student Orientation session, you must be available to be on campus for both days and have internet access for its corresponding fall course registration period, which you can do from anywhere in the world with internet access.

If you are unable to register for fall courses during a particular session's assigned registration period, please select another New Student Orientation session with a fall course registration period during which you will have internet access. New Student Orientation sessions are available on a first-come, first-served basis and limited in seat capacity. 

There is no advantage or disadvantage to attending New Student Orientation earlier or later in the summer. Seats in various classes are reserved for first-year students for each session. These seats are released during every registration period, giving all students the same opportunity for fall course registration.

Please fully consider both New Student Orientation and Fall Course Registration dates before selecting your session when registration opens in mid-April.

Fall 2020 ORIENTATION AND CORRESPONDING COURSE REGISTRATION DATES
Orientation Session Remote Session Dates

Fall Registration Starts

(all times ET) 

Fall Registration Ends

(all times ET)

Session 2 Mon, Jun 1-Tue, Jun 2 Wed, Jul 8 at 10:00 AM Thu, Jul 9 at 2:00 PM 
Session 3 Wed, Jun 3-Thu, Jun 4 Wed, Jul 8 at 10:00 AM Thu, Jul 9 at 2:00 PM
Session 4 Mon, Jun 8-Tue, Jun 9 Wed, Jul 8 at 10:00 AM Thu, Jul 9 at 2:00 PM
Session 5 Wed, Jun 10- Thu, Jun 11 Wed, Jul 8 at 10:00 AM Thu, Jul 9 at 2:00 PM
Session 6 Mon, Jun 15-  Tue, Jun 16 Wed, Jul 15 at 10:00 AM Thu, Jul 16 at 2:00 PM
Session 7 Wed, Jun 17- Thu, Jun 18 Wed, Jul 15 at 10:00 AM Thu, Jul 16 at 2:00 PM
Session 8 Mon, Jun 22- Tue, Jun 23 Wed, Jul 15 at 10:00 AM Thu, Jul 16 at 2:00 PM
Session *9 Wed, Jun 24- Thu, Jun 25 Wed, Jul 15 at 10:00 AM Thu, Jul 16 at 2:00 PM
Session 10 Mon, Jul 6- Tue, Jul 7 Mon, Jul 20 at 10:00 AM Tue, Jul 21 at 2:00 PM
Session 11 Wed, Jul 8-Thu, Jul 9 Mon, Jul 20 at 10:00 AM Tue, Jul 21 at 2:00 PM
Session 13 Mon, Jul 13- Tue, Jul 14 Mon, Jul 20 at 10:00 AM Tue, Jul 21 at 2:00 PM
Session 14 Wed, Jul 15- Thu, Jul 16 Mon, Jul 27 at 10:00 AM Tue, Jul 28 at 2:00 PM
Session 15 Mon, Jul 20- Tue, Jul 21 Mon, Jul 27 at 10:00 AM 

Tue, Jul 28 at 2:00 PM

Session 17** Wed, Aug 12- Thu, Aug 13 Mon, Jul 27 at 10:00 AM

Tue, Jul 28 at 2:00 PM

 

*Reserved only for Honors Carolina students
**Reserved for international students and out-of-state students with extenuating circumstances

First-Year New Student & Family Orientation Reservation Deadline

Beginning on Saturday, May 16, 2020 at 12:00 a.m. ET, a $50 late reservation fee will be charged to process all First-Year New Student & Family Orientation reservations.

The reservation deadline for first-year students admitted off of the waitlist is 10 business days after your enrollment deposit has been paid.

Please review this site to learn more about our staff, programs and services for new students, and please let us know if you have any questions. We look forward to meeting you at New Student & Family Orientation

Registration for First-Year New Student & Family Orientation will open mid-April 2020. Please check back here for updates.