New Student & Family Orientation Dates

Please note, in light of COVID-19 2021 New Student & Family Orientation will be a remote virtual experience. 

Each New Student Orientation date has a corresponding fall course registration time, during which students MUST have access to the internet in order to register for classes. Thus, when choosing a New Student Orientation session, you must be available to attend the orientation session both days and have internet access for its corresponding fall course registration period, which you can do from anywhere in the world with internet access.

If you are unable to register for fall courses during a particular session's assigned registration period, please select another New Student Orientation session with a fall course registration period during which you will have internet access. New Student Orientation sessions are available on a first-come, first-serve basis and are limited in capacity. 

There is no advantage or disadvantage to attending New Student Orientation earlier or later in the summer. Seats in various classes are reserved for first-year students for each session. These seats are released during every registration period, giving all students the same opportunity for fall course registration.
 

Fall 2021 ORIENTATION AND CORRESPONDING COURSE REGISTRATION DATES

*These dates subject to change pending COVID-19 developments*

Orientation Session NSO Session Dates

Fall Registration Starts

(all times ET) 

Fall Registration Ends

(all times ET)

Session 2 Mon, Jun 7-Tue, Jun 8 Wed, Jul 14 at 10:00 AM Thu, Jul 15 at 2:00 PM 
Session 3 Wed, Jun 9-Thu, Jun 10 Wed, Jul 14 at 10:00 AM Thu, Jul 15 at 2:00 PM
Session 4 Mon, Jun 14-Tue, Jun 15 Wed, Jul 14 at 10:00 AM Thu, Jul 15 at 2:00 PM
Session 5 Wed, Jun 16- Thu, Jun 17 Wed, Jul 14 at 10:00 AM Tue, Jul 20 at 2:00 PM
Session 6 Mon, Jun 21-  Tue, Jun 22 Mon, Jul 19 at 10:00 AM Tue, Jul 20 at 2:00 PM
Session 7 Wed, Jun 23- Thu, Jun 24 Mon, Jul 19 at 10:00 AM Tue, Jul 20 at 2:00 PM
Session 8 Mon, Jun 28- Tue, Jun 29 Mon, Jul 19 at 10:00 AM Tue, Jul 20 at 2:00 PM
Session  9* Wed, Jun 30- Thu, July 1 Mon, Jul 19 at 10:00 AM Tue, Jul 20 at 2:00 PM
Session 10 Mon, Jul 12- Tue, Jul 13 Mon, Jul 26 at 10:00 AM Tue, Jul 27 at 2:00 PM
Session 11 Wed, Jul 14- Thu, Jul 15 Mon, Jul 26 at 10:00 AM Tue, Jul 27 at 2:00 PM
Session 13 Mon, Jul 19- Tue, Jul 20 Mon, Jul 26 at 10:00 AM Tue, Jul 27 at 2:00 PM
Session 14 Wed, Jul 21- Thu, Jul 22 Thu, Jul 29 at 10:00 AM Fri, Jul 30 at 2:00 PM
Session 15 Mon, Jul 26- Tue, Jul 27 Thu, Jul 29 at 10:00 AM Fri, Jul 30 at 2:00 PM
Session 17** Wed, Aug 11- Thu, Aug 12 Thu, Jul 29 at 10:00 AM Fri, Jul 30 at 2:00 PM

*This session reserved for students admitted in to the Honors Carolina program

**This session reserved for international and out-of-state students

Monday, August 2nd = FY open enrollment begins

Tuesday, August 3rd = All students open enrollment begins, enrollment capacity increases to 18 hrs for all students, reserves lifted

First-Year New Student & Family Orientation Reservation Deadline

All incoming first-year students must register for a New Student & Family Orientation session by 11:59 p.m. ET on Saturday, May 15, 2021. Beginning on Sunday, May 16, 2021 at 12:00 a.m. ET, a $25 late reservation fee will be charged to process all First-Year New Student & Family Orientation reservations.

The reservation deadline for first-year students admitted off of the waitlist is 10 business days after your enrollment deposit has been paid.

 

Register for New Student & Family Orientation here:  nsfp.unc.edu/orsignup